from fear to FAITH

Serenity and Surrender March 4, 2008

Filed under: Prayers,Questions,Thoughts — tracysbluehouse @ 9:33 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; the courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.  Living one day at a time; Enjoying one moment at a time; Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace; Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it: Trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His Will; That I may be reasonably happy in this life and supremely happy with Him forever in the next. Amen.

I ran  across this prayer today.  It was my Grandmother’s (Ruth) favorite prayer.  I can still hear her saying it in my head even though it’s been ten years since she’s graced this earth.  I think that most of us know those first few lines.  It’s the rest of the prayer that really challenges me – the part we never seem to get to.  It forces the questions:   

Do I trust God?  yes . . . but every moment?  no, but I want to
Why wouldn’t I?  perhaps I’m scared.  maybe I like the false sense of control.  there really isn’t any reason I shouldn’t trust Him.  He’s proven Himself over and over from the beginning of time throughout the ages.

Do I enjoy this life God gave me? i am a half-glass-full kind of person but I don’t think I “seize the day” everyday.  i want to live that life of liberty in ways that my mind hasn’t even wrapped itself around yet.

Have I surrendered my will to His? yes – undeniably i accept the call that God has placed on my life – but i know that He is calling me to surrender every little iota – i want to – but what does that look like?

 

Leave a Reply

