from fear to FAITH

The Writing On My Hand March 16, 2008

Filed under: scripture,Thoughts — tracysbluehouse @ 5:32 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

These are the promises, assurances, and commands that are spoken by God through the prophet Isaiah for me to write upon my hand – today.  For God’s Word transcends all time and space and speaks directly into my heart and compels me to say that I am chosen by Him.  Knowing that I have been chosen by God, I can walk confidently knowing that He will be with me always.  I have nothing to fear.  My sins are no more.  He will use me to declare that He is who He says He is – the Savior.

from God’s Word deemed Isaiah 43 & 44 

this is what the LORD says . . . “fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. . .

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you . . .

because I love you . . .

Do not be afraid, for I am with you . . .

“You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD, “and my servant whom I have chosen so that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he.  Before me no god was formed, nor will there be one after me.  I, even I, am the LORD, and apart from me there is no savior. . . You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD, “that I am God.  Yes, and from ancient days I am he.  No one can deliver out of my hand.  When I act, who can reverse it?” . . .

Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.  See I am doing a new thing!  Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?  I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland. . .

“I, even I , am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.   Review the past for me, let us argue the matter together; state the case for your innocence.  Your first father sinned; your spokesman rebelled against me. . . ”

“But listen, O Jacob, my servant, Israel, whom I have chosen. . .

Do not be afraid, O Jacob, my servant, Jeshurun, whom I have chosen

For I will pour water on the thirsty land, and streams on the dry ground; I will pour out my Spirit on your offspring, and my blessings on your descendants.

They will spring up like grass in a meadow, like poplar trees by flowing streams.

One will say, ‘I belong to the LORD’; another will call himself by the name of Jacob; still another will write on his hand “The LORD’s,’ and will take the name Israel.

 

5 Responses to “The Writing On My Hand”

  1. kip Says:

    I don’t understand. Who is your savior, Jesus, Jehovah; which God? The Lord, Jacob, Israel; it’s too confusing.

  2. tracysbluehouse Says:

    Hello Kip –
    My savior is Jesus Christ.

    Isaiah was an Old Testament prophet who was talking to the people of Israel and Judah. His prophecies were about the coming of Jesus Christ. I admit all of the names can be confusing and I am not an expert.

    So . . . here’s the best I can give you . . .
    My savior is Jesus Christ – the one who saved me from sin and death. Jesus, the Holy Spirit, and Father God are three in one -similar to how the peel, the white meat, and the core are all a part of one apple – one does not exist without the other.

    ‘Jehovah’ and ‘LORD’ are simply other names for God.

    Jacob was a descendant of Abraham, to whom God made a promise. God gave Jacob a new name which was Israel. Jacob’s descendants were then called Israel. God chose the people of Israel to be His chosen people. Along with Israel, He grafts into His chosen people anyone who claims that Jesus is their only Savior.

    Kip – I hope this helps. Although I may not be an expert, the one thing I am certain of is that God’s Word has never failed me and that I can trust that it is true. This is why I claim to be His and write that I am His on the palm of my hand.

  3. Jesus, the Holy Spirit, and Father God are three in one -similar to how the peel, the white meat, and the core are all a part of one apple – one does not exist without the other.

    But where in the Bible is it stated as such? And how did Jesus cry out to “himself” saying, Eli, Eli, Lama sabachtani?

    ATW

  4. tracysbluehouse Says:

    Hello ATW,
    That’s a good question. In fact there are mysteries (1Timothy 3:16) about God (Father,Jesus,& Holy Spirit) that I don’t yet understand. I do believe that one day we will see the complete picture and that God will enable me to understand. He’s God after all and He does things that are beyond my comprehension. Anyway, the Bible doesn’t actually reference the word trinity but we have given it that name so that we can reference the three-in-one persons of God. There are many scriptures that point out the various persons of God. Here are a few – it is not comprehensive as I am not a Bible expert!

    1. There is only one God (Romans 3:30) since there is only one God, who will justify the circumcised by faith and the uncircumcised through that same faith.

    2. The Father is God (1st Corinthians 8:6) yet for us there is but one God, the Father, from whom all things came and for whom we live; and there is but one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom all things came and through whom we live.

    3. Jesus is God (John 1:1) In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. [the Word is another way to describe Jesus]

    4. The Holy Spirit is God (1 Corinithians 6:19) Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own;

    5. Jesus is not the Father (John 1:1 see above & Luke 3:21-22) When all the people were being baptized, Jesus was baptized too. And as he was praying, heaven was opened and the Holy Spirit descended on him in bodily form like a dove. And a voice came from heaven: “You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.”

    6. Jesus is not the Spirit (Luke 3:21-22 see above)

    7. The Father is not the Spirit (Luke 3:21-22 see above)

    As far as the apple analogy – it’s just an analogy and it will break down. For instance: God is not composed of matter as an apple is. God is not composed of parts as an apple is. He is really three persons. There is only one God. While there can be many apples, there can only be one God.

    ATW – I hope this helps.

    Credit: I did most of my research for my reply from Columbia University’s Augustine Club.

  5. Thanks for the reply. One of the things you said and which I like is the fact that God does things beyond our comprehension. I wil add that He is beyond our comprehension for He is Magnificence.

    The questions remain though that if the Bible is the Word of God – or inspired by God, then why did He not come out and say it? After all, He did say I’m the Lord your God. Simple.

    Could the translations the Bible has gone through misused the word Son? For the Aramaic word for son is Bani. Jesus could have easily said I am the Bani of God.

    In points 5 and 6 we conclude that Jesus is not the Father nor the Spirit. Point number 4 and 7 are contradictory. What does this leave us with? My point is if the mentioned points were so direct about who God is and what He is not, then why did He not refer to trinity?

    God is the Lord of Heavens and Earth and all that in between. I think we all agree. His Majesty, Glory and is Being is far more superior to describe Him with our limited minds as One but 3 -in-one. If Neither the “Son” nor the “Father” said this, then who are we to make such a claim?

    By the way, I understood – I think – how Glorious God is by watching this video about Space. You will love this, I am sure.

    ATW


Leave a Reply

