from fear to FAITH

Every Moment with Fresh Ears April 7, 2008

Filed under: scripture,Thankful,Thoughts — tracysbluehouse @ 1:52 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I posted this the other day. . .

I have a friend who is striving to recognize Jesus in every moment of his life.  He has been reading about others who have been participating in this spiritual practice as well.  It seems from his reading and his experience that in being aware of and interacting with Jesus every minute of the day is such a tremendous challenge – that all the other challenges of this world seem small in comparison.  The process is also rich and rewarding as he focuses on Jesus he sees the world with fresh eyes. 

How often do I think of Jesus?
When do I think of Jesus?
Do I see others’ as Jesus would see them?
Do I see the world around me with fresh eyes?
How often do I not meditate on Jesus?

So I have been trying to think of Jesus more often throughout my day.  I am convinced that the more I dwell upon Him – the more I will be able to see the world as he does – with compassion, love, and forgiveness among many other things.  I am not all that disciplined yet.  

Over the last couple of days I have been preparing for one of our upcoming worship services titled Come To Me when I came across this verse from John:6:44-45

No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws him, and I will raise him up at the last day. It is written in the Prophets: ‘They will all be taught by God.’  Everyone who listens to the Father and learns from him comes to me.

As I seek Jesus – the Father draws me near to Him.  God will teach me about Himself and when I listen and learn I will be closer to Jesus.  I love how God actively draws us into Him.   So, while I have been struggling to stay cognizant of God’s presence (especially while I am at work teaching), it came to no surprise to me that it was a beautiful day in which I could open the windows of my classroom and at noon – I heard the church bells rings.  It was a fresh moment with God – I remembered Him – He drew me in and the words “Christ the Lord has risen today” sang sweetly in my head while I watched my students take their test.  Thank You God for drawing me near.

 

One Response to “Every Moment with Fresh Ears”

  1. writ3003 Says:

    I agree with you. In my case, I was born in a Catholic family, very conservative family, but I never really felt close to God even though I went to a catholic school all my life. Couple of months ago my dad invited me to a Christian church, he told me it was totally different because the connection you get with God was amazing, I accepted to go there and after a while I really learn how to have a real connection with God.
    To be honest I don’t think the kind of church or religion has nothing to do with it, it is you who learn that God is the only way to live in peace and what you say about see things in a more clear way, it’s completely truth, maybe some people don’t believe in that because they think is too old fashioned or that is stupid, but like I say is not about religion is about a personal relationship with God.
    I don’t believe in churches or laws I only believe in the plan that God has for me and I have faith that is just perfect just as everything he does.

    Diana L.R


Leave a Reply

