from fear to FAITH

Lead Me To the Cross June 3, 2009

Filed under: Song Lyrics,Thoughts,Uncategorized — tracysbluehouse @ 3:17 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

In Brooke Fraser’s song she sings . . . “lead me tot he cross.” As I was preparing for musical worship this week I was thinking about what that meant.  The cross an agent of death – a method of execution.  It was the place that Jesus died the final death.  So we come to the cross with our sins so that they can die.  It is a place that we rid ourselves from our human error and accept the grace of God in his resurrection and his victory over sin and death.   When I am on my knees in of Christ I am letting go of the “prison of me” and taking on the “freedom of God”.  

Savior I come, quiet my soul, remember
Redemption’s hill, where Your blood was spilled or my ransom
Everything I once held dear I count it all as loss

Lead me to the cross where Your love poured out
Bring me to my knees Lord I lay me down
Rid me of myself, I belong to You
Oh lead me, lead me to the cross

You were as I, tempted and tried, human
The Word became flesh, bore my sin in death, Now Your risen
Everything I once held dear, I count it all as loss

To Your Heart
To Your Heart
Lead me to Your Heart
Lead me to Your Heart

Brooke Fraser

 

2 Responses to “Lead Me To the Cross”

  1. Selene Says:

    Awesome and anointed song… to know that we are free from sin, hell, sickness, poverty and fear brings peace. I love the name of your blog by the way. That’s something that our church is teaching through bible studies. No more fear!

  2. Star Says:

    I realize you posted this almost two years ago but I would just like to thank you for sharing your studies. I share the gift that God has given me with two young girls, which is interprative dance. The first song i worked with them was this song. It’s been a few months and its amazing to see where God has brought these beautiful girls. This Sunday I have booked them at a church that they have never been to, or are not comfortable with. They are ministering to 3 songs and starting out with Lead Me To The Cross. The other two i have required them to study verses on, feeling that it would not be right to minister a song to people if you do not fully understand it yourself. Being this is their first time I am going to introduce them and introduce this song. I have been studying the word and found scriptures such as 1 Corinthians 1:18 which are awesome but reading your personal study just brought a new light on this song for me. The cross is so much more then our beginning, its where we return to seek forgiveness and receive a fresh start once again. I just wanted to say thank you, whether you ever read this, it is said to give credit where credit is due and it was most definately due here.
    God Bless,
    Star


Leave a Reply

