from fear to FAITH

He Will Not January 28, 2011

Filed under: from scripture,Prayers,scripture,Thoughts — tracysbluehouse @ 2:45 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

He can do anything.  He is all powerful and all knowing and yet there are a few things that He will not do.  Out of choice, He will not. 

This year my verse to live and be encouraged by is Hebrews 13:5-6.  The amplified version has captivated my heart.

Let your character or moral disposition be free from love of money [including greed, avarice, lust, and craving for earthly possessions] and be satisfied with your present [circumstances and with what you have]; for He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]  So we take comfort and are encouraged and confidently and boldly say, The Lord is my Helper; I will not be seized with alarm [I will not fear or dread or be terrified]. What can man do to me?

As I continue to walk closer to God I wonder why I sometimes forget that He will not let me down.  No one else can claim this – not my family – not my nearest and dearest friends.  After a year in which I experienced betrayal and distance between friends and family it is hard to climb back into a seat of trust.  In result of these experiences I find myself retracting from relationships that I normally would jump into.  It’s difficult especially knowing that it could mostly certainly will happen again.  Oh the pain of mistrust.  I then undeservingly transfer these thoughts onto God but He quickly comes back and reminds me that He is no mere human – He is able to be trusted – He is capable of being trusted – He is worthy of being trusted and He will not – He will not – He will not ever leave me.

Oh Lord – Teach me to thrust my whole self into Your Trust – You are able & capable of a trust that is beyond my imagination.  Let me not live in fear but in faith that you have and you will keep this promise. – Amen

 

Leave a Reply

